குறளின் குரல் – 1159

22nd Jun, 2015

அரிதரோ தேற்றம் அறிவுடையார் கண்ணும் 
பிரிவோ ரிடத்துண்மை யான்.
                                  (குறள் 1153: பிறிவாற்றாமை அதிகாரம்)

அரிது அரோ – அருமையே, கடினமே! (அரோ – பொருளில்லா அசைச் சொல்)
தேற்றம் – தெளிவது (அவர் பிரியேன் என்று உறுதியாக சொன்னதை)
அறிவுடையார் கண்ணும் – நான் அவரைப் பிரிவது ஆற்றேன் என்றறிந்தார் மாட்டும்
பிரிவு ஓரிடத்து – பிரிவென்பது ஒரு சமயத்தில்
உண்மையான் – நிகழும் என்பது உண்மையாக இருப்பதால்.

நான் அவரைப் பிரிந்திருப்பதை தாளேன் என்பதை அவர் அறிந்தாரே ஆயினும் ஒரு சமயத்தில் பிரிவு என்பது நிகழும் என்பது உண்மையாக இருப்பதால், பிரியேன் என்றவர் கூறி உறுதியளிப்பதை நம்பித் தெளிவதும், அவர் என்னிடம் உண்மையான அன்புடையவர் என்று நம்புவதும் கடினமே! என்று தலைவி எண்ணுவதையும், தம்தோழியிடம் அங்கலாய்த்துப் புலம்புதலையும் கூறுகிறது இக்குறள். பிரிவாற்றாமையின் ஒரு கூற்றே இதுவும்.

Transliteration:

aridarO tERRam aRivuDaiyAr kaNNum
pirivO riDattuNmai yAn

aridu arO – difficult it is!
tERRam – to be sure and believe
aRivuDaiyAr kaNNum – even with that who knows I would not bear his separation
piriv(u) OriDattu – being apart is
uNmaiyAn – likely to be the truth

Though he knows that I would not bear being separated from him and I am also aware of the truth that he would leave me sometimes, the promise that he made that he would not leave me, is hard to believe; and it is difficult to believe that he has true love for me too! This verse depicts the yearning of the woman in love as her saying either to herself or to her friend. Such yearning is part of inability to endure separation.

“Though aware of my lack of endurance of separation, his promise that he wouldn’t
is impossible to keep at times, I know well! How could I trust his promise? I couldn’t”

இன்றெனது குறள்:

பிரிவாற்றேன் என்றறிந்து செய்யேனென் றாரும்
பிரிவரெனின் நம்புதலெவ் வாறு?

pirivARREn enRaRindu seyyEnen RArum
pirivarenin nambudalev vARu?

பிரிவாற்றேன் என்றுணர்ந் தாரும்செய் வாரே
அரிதவர் கூற்றில் தெளிவு

pirivARREn enRuNarn dArumsei vArE
aridavar kURRil teLivu

About ashoksubra

A little of everything is me! Immensely amazed by the concept of Universe and its infinite dimensions. Everything in this perspective seems extremely insignificant spec of a matter! My strength and weakness are one and the same - interest in everything. Focus and Shine is contrary to my belief system because everything shines, un-shines in time. There is nothing like permanent glory, except for the unknown, unseen, yet believed to be smiling at all of us - creator! Sometimes the thought having to go through a whole lot of new learning if I am born again baffles me. At the same time, I feel it may be a new beginning in a clean slate! So, you have figured me out right? I hope not!
This entry was posted in ThirukkuraL (திருக்குறள்). Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment