குறளின் குரல் – 1099

23rd April, 2015

நோக்கினாள் நோக்கி இறைஞ்சினாள் அஃதவள் 
யாப்பினுள் அட்டிய நீர்.
                                (குறள் 1093: குறிப்பறிதல் அதிகாரம்)

நோக்கினாள் – யானவளைக் காணாப்போது, என்னை அன்புடன் பார்ப்பாள்
நோக்கி இறைஞ்சினாள் – ஒன்றை மனதில் கருதி அதை வேண்டவும் செய்வாள்
அஃதவள் – அது அவள் ( அன்பெனும் பயிர் )
யாப்பினுள் – வளர்வதற்கு கட்டிய அரணாம் பாத்தியினுள்
அட்டிய நீர் – ஊற்றி வைத்த நீர்போன்றாகும்

நான் அவளைப் பார்க்காதபோது என்னை அன்புடன் பார்க்கிறாள். அப்பார்வையில் என்னன்பை வேண்டுவதும், நாணுவதும் என்னால் உணரமுடிகிறது. அப்பார்வை எங்களுக்கிடையேயான அன்புப்பயிர் வளருவதற்காக அவள் பாத்தியாகிய அரணைக் கட்டி, அதில் ஊற்றிவைத்த நீர்போன்றாகும்.

அன்பின் மிகுதியில் ஏற்படும் உணர்ச்சிப் பெருக்கில், அப்பெண்ணின் கண்களில் நீர் கட்டுதலையும் குறிக்கிறார் வள்ளுவர். இக்குறளைப் படிக்கும் போது கண்ணதாசனின் பாடல்வரிகள் நினைவுக்கு வருகின்றன.

“உன்னை நான் பார்க்கும் போது
மண்ணை நீ பார்க்கின்றாயே
விண்ணை நான் பார்க்கும் போது
என்னை நீ பார்க்கின்றாயே”

Transliteration:

nOkkinAL nOkki iRanjinAL ahdavaL
yAppinuL aTTiyA nIr

nOkkinAL – when I don’t see here, she would see me with love
nOkki iRanjinAL – Also would request secretly, thinking of union with me
ahdavaL – that she, in her
yAppinuL – the bankment of eyes
aTTiyA nIr – water she has collected ( to spring sprout our love )

When I did not see her, she would glance at me with so much love; she would plead my unflinching love and togetherness with her. That glance of hers served as the impetus, water collected in the embankment to sprout the vegetation of love.

Indirectly, VaLLuvar also implies the water collected in her eyes, with the overwhelming love for her mate. This verse also reminds us of an inspired song by KannadAsan.

When I glance you look down the sand; when I look up in the sky, you glance me”. Of course in its original words in Tamil, the song sounds beautiful.

“She glanced at me when I didn’t look at her; eyes would plead our togetherness.
As if it is water saved with the embankment for the sprout of our love to harness”

இன்றெனது குறள்:

காண்பாள்கா ணாப்போது வேண்டுவாள் அன்பிற்குக்
காண்பாள்நீர் போற்றும் அரண்

kANbALkA NappOdu vENDuvAL anbiRkuk
kANbALnIr pORRum araN

About ashoksubra

A little of everything is me! Immensely amazed by the concept of Universe and its infinite dimensions. Everything in this perspective seems extremely insignificant spec of a matter! My strength and weakness are one and the same - interest in everything. Focus and Shine is contrary to my belief system because everything shines, un-shines in time. There is nothing like permanent glory, except for the unknown, unseen, yet believed to be smiling at all of us - creator! Sometimes the thought having to go through a whole lot of new learning if I am born again baffles me. At the same time, I feel it may be a new beginning in a clean slate! So, you have figured me out right? I hope not!
This entry was posted in ThirukkuraL (திருக்குறள்). Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment