குறளின் குரல் – 1158

21st Jun, 2015

இன்கண் உடைத்தவர் பார்வல் பிரிவஞ்சும்
புன்கண் உடைத்தால் புணர்வு.
                                   (குறள் 1152: பிறிவாற்றாமை அதிகாரம்)

இன்கண் – இன்பம்
உடைத்து அவர் – கொண்டதாயிருந்தது அவருடைய
பார்வல் – பார்வையொன்றே
பிரிவஞ்சும் – ஆனால் புணர்ந்தபின் பிரிய நேருமே என்று அஞ்சி
புன்கண் – துன்பம்
உடைத்தால் – கொண்டது
புணர்வு – எங்களின் கூடல்

இக்குறளில் காதற் தலைமகள் தன் தோழியை நோக்கிச் சொல்லுகிறாள்: “முன்பு அவர் என்னை பார்க்கும் போது இன்பமாய் இருந்தது (பின் நாங்கள் இருவரும் கூடப்போவதை எண்ணி). இன்றோ அவர் என்னைத் தழுவி புணருகையில் இன்பத்துக்கு மாறாக துன்பமாக இருக்கிறதே! ஏனெனில், புணர்ந்தபின் என்னைத் தழுவிய அவருடல் பிரியப்போகிறதே என்றெண்ணி”

இக்குறளை காதலர் காதலிக்கு இடையேயான பிறிவாற்றமையைச் சொல்வதாக மட்டும் கொள்ளமுடியாது. இதிலே மக்களுடைய உளவியல் கூறுபாடும் உணர்த்தப்படுகிறது. ஒன்றை அடையப்போகிறோம் என்ற மகிழ்ச்சியில் அதைப் பற்றிய சிந்தனையே நம்மை பீடித்துக்கொள்ளும். எதிர்பார்ப்பில் மனம் குதுகலிக்கும். ஆனால், அடைந்தபின், மகிழ்வுக்கிடையே, அது நம்மை விட்டு எப்போது விலகிவிடுமோ என்கிற அச்சம் நம்மை பீடித்துக்கொண்டு அடைந்ததை முழுமையாக அனுபவிக்கமுடியாமல் செய்துவிடும். இந்த மனித இயல்பையும் காதலியின் வாயிலாக எடுத்துக் கூறுகிறார்.

Transliteration:

inkaN uDaittavar pArval pirivanjum
punkaN uDaittA puNarvu

inkaN – delight or pleasure
uDaitt(u) avar – had his
pArval – looking at me (indicating the impending union)
pirivanjum – fearing the separation after the union
punkaN – misery
uDaittA – has my mind
puNarvu – after the consummate union of us.

In this verse, the maiden in love, says to her friend, “ Earlier when we was glancing at me, it was just so delightful (as I knew that was invitation to be in union with him); But now when he embraces me in union, I feel painful in my heart, because of the thought that he would leave me after”

Through this verse, VaLLuvar, apart from talking about the maiden’s state of mind about separation, touches upon a very fundamental psychological aspect of human mind. In general we humans, in anticipation of an impending arrival of any happy happenings, feel so elated, even before the happening. During the happening, though we enjoy the moments, we also feel unknown pain gripping us, because of the thought that happy-hapenning would not last for long.

“Before our union, his glancing at me was delightful
Now, thinking of impending separation I am frightful”

இன்றெனது குறள்:

பார்க்கையில் இன்பாய் இருந்தது கூடலாலோ
சோர்ந்து பிரிவஞ்சி துன்பு

pArkkaiyil inbAi irundadu kUDalAlO
sOrndu pirvanji tunbu

About ashoksubra

A little of everything is me! Immensely amazed by the concept of Universe and its infinite dimensions. Everything in this perspective seems extremely insignificant spec of a matter! My strength and weakness are one and the same - interest in everything. Focus and Shine is contrary to my belief system because everything shines, un-shines in time. There is nothing like permanent glory, except for the unknown, unseen, yet believed to be smiling at all of us - creator! Sometimes the thought having to go through a whole lot of new learning if I am born again baffles me. At the same time, I feel it may be a new beginning in a clean slate! So, you have figured me out right? I hope not!
This entry was posted in ThirukkuraL (திருக்குறள்). Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment