குறளின் குரல் – 1187

119: (Affliction of Sallowness – பசப்புறு பருவரல்)

[The word Pasalai refers to color change in a femal, by growing pale waiting for her lover to join her. The lack of fulfillment of conjugal desire in her gives the change of color in her body and the affliction due to the same. Though earlier, couple of chapters ago, she was complaining of her state and was mostly accusatory of her lover who left her in that state; Here her reflections are mostly about her pain because of that sallowness.]

20th Jul, 2015

நயந்தவர்க்கு நல்காமை நேர்ந்தேன் பசந்தவென் 
பண்பியார்க்கு உரைக்கோ பிற.

நயந்தவர்க்கு – என்மேல் அன்புளார்க்கு (என் காதலர்க்கு)
நல்காமை – அவர் என்மேல் கொண்ட ஆசையை காட்டும் பேற்றினைத் தாராது
நேர்ந்தேன் – என்னைப் பிரிந்து இருக்க அவரை அனுமதித்தேன்
பசந்த என் பண்பு – இன்று பசலைப் படர்ந்து (நிறம் மாறி) இருக்கிற என்னுடைய நிலைப் பற்றி
யார்க்கு உரைக்கோ பிற – யாரிடத்தில் சென்று சொல்லுவேன்.

என் மேல் அன்பு கொண்ட என் காதலர்க்கு, அவர் என்மேல் அன்போடு இருக்கும் வாய்ப்பினை அளிக்காது, என்னைப் பிரிந்து செல்ல அனுமதித்து நானே! இன்று பசலையால் நிறப்பொலிவழிந்த எனக்கு நானே வருவித்துக்கொண்ட துன்பத்திருக்கும் என் நிலையினைப் பற்றி நான் யாரிடம் சென்று சொல்லுவேன்?

Transliteration:

Nayandavarkku nalgAmai nErndEn pasandaven
paNbiyArkku uraikkO piRa

Nayandavarkku – The man who loves me so dearly
nalgAmai – for him to continue his stay with me and shower love,
nErndEn – letting him go
pasanda en paNb(u) – and suffer the skin becoming pale
yArkku uraikkO piRa – who shall I go and complain?

I let my lover, so dear to me, to go away separating from me, not letting him continue to shower his love ; When I consented for his absence in the first place, now that I have gone pale, losing my shine, in the disease of lust, who shall I go and complain to?

“Having consented for the absence of my lover
who shall I complain today suffering in luster? 

இன்றெனது குறள்:

அன்பர் அருளாமை யேற்றேன் பசலையால்
இன்றுற்ற சொல்வதி யார்க்கு?

Anbar aruLAmai yERREn pasalaiyAl
inRuRRa solvadi yArkku?

About ashoksubra

A little of everything is me! Immensely amazed by the concept of Universe and its infinite dimensions. Everything in this perspective seems extremely insignificant spec of a matter! My strength and weakness are one and the same - interest in everything. Focus and Shine is contrary to my belief system because everything shines, un-shines in time. There is nothing like permanent glory, except for the unknown, unseen, yet believed to be smiling at all of us - creator! Sometimes the thought having to go through a whole lot of new learning if I am born again baffles me. At the same time, I feel it may be a new beginning in a clean slate! So, you have figured me out right? I hope not!
This entry was posted in ThirukkuraL (திருக்குறள்). Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment