குறளின் குரல் – 1263

4th Sep, 2015

நாணென ஒன்றோ அறியலம் காமத்தால் 
பேணியார் பெட்ப செயின்.
                           (குறள் 1257: நிறையழிதல் அதிகாரம்)

நாணென ஒன்றோ – நாணமென்ற ஒன்று இருப்பதையே
அறியலம் – அறிந்திலேன் நிறையழிந்து
காமத்தால் – மீதுறும் காம விழைவால்
பேணியார் – என்னால் விரும்பப்படுபவர்
பெட்பச் செயின் – மிக்க செய்தால் (நான் விரும்பியளவில் கலவி செய்தலால்)

இக்குறளுக்கான பரிமேலழகர் உரையில், “பரத்தையர்பால் சென்றுவந்த தலைவன்பால் கோபமுறாது, காதற்தலைவியின் கலவி விழைவு, அவளது நிறையை அழித்து, வெட்கத்தைத் துறக்கச் செய்தது” என்றவாறு பொருள் செய்துள்ளார். சுவைபடவே கூறப்பட்டிருப்பினும், இது முற்றிலுக் கொண்டு கூட்டி செய்யப்பட்ட பொருளே. காதற் தலைவி இவ்வாறு கூறுகிறாள்: நான் நாணமென்ற ஒன்றிருப்பதையே அறியவில்லை; ஏனெனில் என்னால் விரும்பப்படும் என் காதற்தலைவன், காமத்தால் நான் விரும்பும் கலவி இன்பத்தை மிகுதியாகவே வழங்குவதால், என் நிறை அழிந்ததையும் நான் அறிந்திலேன் என்கிறாள்.

Transliteration:

nANena onRO aRiyalam kAmattAl
pENiyAr peTpach cheyin

nANena onRO – existence of such a thing called “modesty”
aRiyalam – Not aware of
kAmattAl – because of the desire of coitus
pENiyAr – that who is desired by me
peTpach cheyin – giving pleasure abundantly

Parimelazhagars’ commentary for this verse interprets that the maidens’ desire for coitus, makes her lose her modesty to go after her lover, that went to other women that sell physical relationship, instead of being angry at him and not wanting to be with him. Though interesting interpretation, it is his surmise, not how the verse says it. Here, the maiden simply says thus: I am not aware of, even the existence of modesty, when my mate that’s desired by me, gives the pleasure of coitus abundantly.

“I am not even aware of that there is modesty, driven by desire,
When my beloved gives me more in coitus and sets me in fire”

இன்றெனது குறள்(கள்):

வேண்டியோர் வேண்டிய செய்யுங்கால் காமத்தால்
நாண்பாரேன் நான்நிறை அற்று

vENDiyOr vENDiya cheyyungAl kAmattAl
nANpArEn nAnniRai aRRu

நாமறியோம் நாணினை நாம்விரும்பு நாயகர்
காமத்தால் மிக்கச் செயின்

nAmaRiyOm nANinai nAmvirumbu nAyakar
kAmattAl mikkach cheyin

About ashoksubra

A little of everything is me! Immensely amazed by the concept of Universe and its infinite dimensions. Everything in this perspective seems extremely insignificant spec of a matter! My strength and weakness are one and the same - interest in everything. Focus and Shine is contrary to my belief system because everything shines, un-shines in time. There is nothing like permanent glory, except for the unknown, unseen, yet believed to be smiling at all of us - creator! Sometimes the thought having to go through a whole lot of new learning if I am born again baffles me. At the same time, I feel it may be a new beginning in a clean slate! So, you have figured me out right? I hope not!
This entry was posted in ThirukkuraL (திருக்குறள்). Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment