குறளின் குரல் – 1296

6th Nov, 2015

கண்ணின் துனித்தே கலங்கினாள் புல்லுதல் 
என்னினும் தான்விதுப் புற்று.
                                     (குறள் 1290: புணர்ச்சிவிதும்பல் அதிகாரம்)

கண்ணின் – கண்ணால்
துனித்தே – என்னை வெறுத்தாள் (அல்லது ஊடினாள்)
கலங்கினாள் – மயங்கினாள்
புல்லுதல் – என்னோடு கூடியிருத்தலை
என்னினும் – என்னைவிட
தான் விதுப்புற்று – தான் விரைவாகக் கொள்ள

என்னுடைய காதலி கண்ணால் என்னவோ ஊடியபோல் வெறுப்பைத்தான் காட்டினாள், கொட்டினாள். ஆனால், என்னோடு கூடியிருத்தலுக்காக, மனமயக்கதால் விழைந்து, என்னைவிடவும் விரைந்தாள், என்று தலைவன் தலைவியின் புணர்ச்சி விதுப்பலை ஒருவித தன் ஆண்மையின் பெருமையாகவே கூறுகிறான் இக்குறளில்

Transliteration:

kaNNin tunittE kalanginAL pulludal
enninum tAnvidup puRRu.

kaNNin – With her eyes
tunittE – she exhits hate and dislike
kalanginAL –she is confused
pulludal – to be in union with me
enninum – more than me
tAn viduppuRRu – she was desirous

My maiden shows her dislike for me, with her eyes because of her love quarrel with me; but in her confused state, to be in union with me, she is more desirous and expedient than I am, says the man about her maiden, perhaps with a sense of pride.

“In her eyes, she showed feigned dislike and disgust;
but, her expedient embrace exceeded mine, in thirst”

இன்றெனது குறள்:

ஊடினாள் கண்ணால் அதனின் விரைந்தென்னைக்
கூடினாள் என்னை விழைந்து

UDinAL kaNNAl adanain viraindennaik
kUDinAL ennai vizhaindu

About ashoksubra

A little of everything is me! Immensely amazed by the concept of Universe and its infinite dimensions. Everything in this perspective seems extremely insignificant spec of a matter! My strength and weakness are one and the same - interest in everything. Focus and Shine is contrary to my belief system because everything shines, un-shines in time. There is nothing like permanent glory, except for the unknown, unseen, yet believed to be smiling at all of us - creator! Sometimes the thought having to go through a whole lot of new learning if I am born again baffles me. At the same time, I feel it may be a new beginning in a clean slate! So, you have figured me out right? I hope not!
This entry was posted in ThirukkuraL (திருக்குறள்). Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment