குறளின் குரல் – 1303

13th Nov, 2015

நாணும் மறந்தேன் அவர்மறக் கல்லாஎன் 
மாணா மடநெஞ்சிற் பட்டு.
                         (குறள் 1297: நெஞ்சொடுபுலத்தல் அதிகாரம்)

நாணும் மறந்தேன் – என்னுடைய நாணத்தையும் நான் மறந்தேன்
அவர் மறக்கல்லா – அவரை மறக்க முடியாமல்
என் மாணா – என் மாட்சிமை இழந்த
மட நெஞ்சிற் பட்டு – அறியா மனத்தோடு இயைந்து

என்னுடைய இயல்பான நாணத்தையும் நான் மறந்துவிட்டேன், இந்த மாட்சிமையை இழந்த என்னுடைய நெஞ்சினால் அவனை மறக்க முடியாமல் என்று தன் நெஞ்சின் உறுதியற்ற தன்மையை நொந்து, தன்னுடைய இயலாமையை நெஞ்சுக்குரியதாக்கிக் கூறுகிறாள் காதற் தலைவி, இக்குறளில். அவன் பிரிந்து சென்று வந்தமைக்காக ஊடாது அவனைக் கண்ட மாத்திரத்தில் கலவிக்காய் அவனோடு இணங்குவதை அவள் மாணிழத்தலாக நினைக்கிறாள்.

Transliteration:

nANum maRndEn avarmaRak kallAen
mANA maDanenjiR paTTu

nANum maRndEn – I even forgot my modesty
avar maRakkallA – not able to forget him
en mANA – my dignity-lost
maDa nenjiR paTTu – going with my ignorant heart

“I forgot even my innate modesty, because of this heart that has lost dignity not being able to forget him”, complains the maiden about her ignoble hearts’ lack of resolve, in a way pinning her inability on her heart. She knows that her heart has goes after him, for union, despite his leaving him and coming back, instead of indulging in love-quarrel.

“I lost my modesty, not able to forget,
keeping him in my heart, dignity lost”

இன்றெனது குறள்:

மாணிலா தென்மட நெஞ்சோ டியைந்துநான்
நாணிழந் தேன்மறக்கொ ணாது

mANilA denmada nenjO DiyaindunAn
nANizan dEnmaRakko NAdu

About ashoksubra

A little of everything is me! Immensely amazed by the concept of Universe and its infinite dimensions. Everything in this perspective seems extremely insignificant spec of a matter! My strength and weakness are one and the same - interest in everything. Focus and Shine is contrary to my belief system because everything shines, un-shines in time. There is nothing like permanent glory, except for the unknown, unseen, yet believed to be smiling at all of us - creator! Sometimes the thought having to go through a whole lot of new learning if I am born again baffles me. At the same time, I feel it may be a new beginning in a clean slate! So, you have figured me out right? I hope not!
This entry was posted in ThirukkuraL (திருக்குறள்). Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment