குறளின் குரல் – 1161

24th Jun, 2015

ஓம்பின் அமைந்தார் பிரிவோம்பல் மற்றவர் 
நீங்கின் அரிதால் புணர்வு.
                               (குறள் 1155: பிறிவாற்றாமை அதிகாரம்)

ஓம்பின் – காக்கவேண்டுமாயின் (என்னுடைய உயிரை)
அமைந்தார் – என்னுள்ளதில் அமைந்தவராம் (என் காதலரை)
பிரிவு ஓம்பல் – பிரிவதிலிருந்து காக்க (என்னை)
மற்று அவர் நீங்கின் – எனெனில், அவ்வாறு அவர் என்னை விட்டுச் சென்றால்
அரிது ஆல் – கடினமே (ஆல் விகுதி சுய இரக்கத்தைக் குறிப்பது)
புணர்வு – மீண்டும் அவரோடு கூடி இருத்தலாகிய இன்பம்

தலைவி, தோழியிடம் இவ்வாறு கூறுகிறாள்: “என்னுயிரைக் காக்கவேண்டுமென்று நீ விரும்பினையாயின், என்னுள்ளத்திலே அமைந்தவராம் என் காதலர், என்னை விட்டு நீங்கிச் செல்லாமல் செய்து காப்பாயாக! என்னை விட்டு அவர் நீங்கிச் சென்றால் அவரோடு நான் கூடியிருந்து கொள்ளும் இன்பமும் அரிதாகி விடும். அதுவே அவரையே நினைந்துருகும் என்னுடைய ஆவி நீங்கவும் காரணமாகிவிடும்”. இவ்வாறு கூறி தலைவி தன்னுடைய பிரிவாற்றாமையை வெளிப்படுத்துகிறாளாம்.

இக்குறளில் தலைவி முன்னிலை செய்வது என்னை? தலைவன் மேல் உள்ள காதலையா? அல்லது அவனோடு கூடியிருக்கும் இன்பத்தையா? என்ற கேள்வி எழாமல் இல்லை. ஆயினும், புணர்வு என்பதை கூடியிருத்தல் என்ற பொதுப்பொருளில் கொள்வோமேயானால், அது அன்பின் அடிப்படையானது என்று விளங்கும். அவள் “அமைந்தார்” என்றதும் அவ்வன்பினையே முதலில் குறிக்கிறது.

Transliteration:

Ombin amaindAr pirivOmbal maRRavar
nIngin aridAl puNarvu

Ombin – if you want to save me (my life)
amaindAr – that who resides in my heart (my lover)
piriv(u) Ombal – prevent him from leaving (me)
maRR(u) avar nIngin – but, if he leaves me
aridu Al – it is difficult (in self- pity)
puNarvu – to be in union with him

The maiden tells her friend and asks her to go to her (maidens’ ) lover this: “if you want to save my life, prevent my lover, that resides in my heart, from leaving me and save me so. If he leaves me, the pleasurable union with him will be difficult and not be there anymore, because my life would not sustain being separated from him”. Thus she expresses her inability to bear his separation and conveys that her life would be finished if he did leave her.

Reading this verse, also sets us to think as to what her priority is. Is it her love for him or just the desire of physical union with him? If we interpret the word “puNarvu” in general sense of being to gether, then we understand that to be based on her love for him which is also established by the word, “amaindAr”, meaning that who resides in her heart.

“If you deesire to save my life, then prevent the one that resides in my heart
from leaving! If he does, our union forever shall cease with my broken-heart”

இன்றெனது குறள்:

உயிர்காக்கின் என்னாரை நீங்காச்செய் நீங்கின்
அயிர்ப்பின்றி கூடல் அரிது

uyirkAkkin ennArai nIngAchchei nIngin
ayirppinRi kUDal aridu

About ashoksubra

A little of everything is me! Immensely amazed by the concept of Universe and its infinite dimensions. Everything in this perspective seems extremely insignificant spec of a matter! My strength and weakness are one and the same - interest in everything. Focus and Shine is contrary to my belief system because everything shines, un-shines in time. There is nothing like permanent glory, except for the unknown, unseen, yet believed to be smiling at all of us - creator! Sometimes the thought having to go through a whole lot of new learning if I am born again baffles me. At the same time, I feel it may be a new beginning in a clean slate! So, you have figured me out right? I hope not!
This entry was posted in ThirukkuraL (திருக்குறள்). Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment