குறளின் குரல் – 1174

7th Jul, 2015

மன்னுயிர் எல்லாம் துயிற்றி அளித்திரா 
என்னல்லது இல்லை துணை.
                         (குறள் 1168: படர்மெலிந்திரங்கல் அதிகாரம்)

மன்னுயிர் எல்லாம் – உலகுயிர் எல்லாவற்றையும்
துயிற்றி – துயிலில் ஆழ்த்தி
அளித்து இரா – இரங்கத்தக்க வகையில் இரவானது
என்னல்லது – என்னைத் தவிர
இல்லை துணை – வேறு யாரும் துணையில்லாத் தனிமையிலுள்ளது

இரவின் தனிமையை சுட்டும் விதமாக தன்னுடைய தனிமையைப் பற்றி புலம்புகிறாள் காதல் தலைவி. இவ்வாறு அவள் கூறுகிறாளாம்: உலகத்து உயிர்களையெல்லாம் தூங்கச் செய்துவிட்டு, தான் தனிமையில் இருக்கு இரவும் அதன் நிலையும் இரங்கத்தக்கன. என் தலைவன் பிரிந்து சென்ற பிறகு நானும் தனிமையில் ஏங்குகிறேன், இரவில் உறக்கம் பிடிக்காமல், கொள்ளாமல். நானே இவ்விரவுக்கும் துணையாக இருக்கிறேன்!

Transliteration:

Mannuyir ellAm tuyiRRi aLittirA
Ennaladu illai tuNai

Mannuyir ellAm – All lives of this earth
tuyiRRi – made to sleep (by the night)
aLittirA – pitiable night (because it is all alone)
Ennaladu – other than me
illai tuNai – none else is its companion, in loneliness

By citing the loneliness of the night, the maiden in love laments about her own solitude. She says: After making all the lives on earth to goto sleep, the night is in a pitiable state of loneliness; after my lover has left me, I am in a similar state and I am the company for the night, which is also alone.

“After putting the world to res, night is in pitiable solitude
There is no other company for it, than me, in same mood”

இன்றெனது குறள்:

உலகுயிர் யாவும் துயிலாழ்த்தி என்னில்
இலதுணையே இவ்விர வுக்கு

ulaguyir yAvum tuyilAztti ennil
ilathuNaiyE ivvira vukku

About ashoksubra

A little of everything is me! Immensely amazed by the concept of Universe and its infinite dimensions. Everything in this perspective seems extremely insignificant spec of a matter! My strength and weakness are one and the same - interest in everything. Focus and Shine is contrary to my belief system because everything shines, un-shines in time. There is nothing like permanent glory, except for the unknown, unseen, yet believed to be smiling at all of us - creator! Sometimes the thought having to go through a whole lot of new learning if I am born again baffles me. At the same time, I feel it may be a new beginning in a clean slate! So, you have figured me out right? I hope not!
This entry was posted in ThirukkuraL (திருக்குறள்). Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment