குறளின் குரல் – 1210

12th Aug, 2015

யாமும் உளேங்கொல் அவர்நெஞ்சத்து எந்நெஞ்சத்து 
ஓஒ உளரே அவர்.
                                               (குறள் 1204: நினைந்தவர் புலம்பல் அதிகாரம்)

யாமும் உளேங்கொல் – (அதேபோல) நானும் இருக்கிறேனோ?
அவர் நெஞ்சத்து – என் காதலர் உள்ளத்திலே?
எந்நெஞ்சத்து – என் உள்ளத்திலே
ஓஒ உளரே அவர் – அவர்தானே இடையறாது இருக்கிறார்.

என் உள்ளத்திலே என் காதலரே எப்போதும், இடையறாது குடியிருக்கிறார். அதேபோன்று அவர் உள்ளத்தில் நானும், நான்மட்டும் இருப்பேனா? என்று தோழியிடம் கேட்கிறாள் காதற்தலைவி. அவ்வாறாயின் அவர் விரைவில் வந்துவிடுவார் அல்லவா என்று தோழியிடம் காதற்தலைவி அலமந்து பேசுகிறாள். இக்குறள் நிச்சயமாக காதற்தலைவியின் குரலாகவே ஒலிப்பதைக் காணலாம்.

Transliteration:

yAmum uLEngkol avar nenjathtu ennejaththu
OO uLarE avar.

yAmum uLEngkol – (similarly) Am I also there?
avar nenjathtu – in my beloved’s heart
ennejaththu – In my heart
OO uLarE avar – he is the only one that resides for ever

In my heart my lover resides always; Similary am I in my beloved’s heart too? Wonders the maiden in love. If that’s the case, would he not be back soon, the maiden asks her friend. Most definitely this verse sounds like from the maidens’ mouth instead of being common to both in love.

“My beloved resides always in my heart
Likewise, would I also be in his heart?”

இன்றெனது குறள்:

என்னுள்ளத் துள்ளார் அவரே அவருள்ளம்
நின்றாளும் நானேதா னோ?

ennuLLath tuLLAr avarE avaruLLam
ninRALum nAnEtA nO?

About ashoksubra

A little of everything is me! Immensely amazed by the concept of Universe and its infinite dimensions. Everything in this perspective seems extremely insignificant spec of a matter! My strength and weakness are one and the same - interest in everything. Focus and Shine is contrary to my belief system because everything shines, un-shines in time. There is nothing like permanent glory, except for the unknown, unseen, yet believed to be smiling at all of us - creator! Sometimes the thought having to go through a whole lot of new learning if I am born again baffles me. At the same time, I feel it may be a new beginning in a clean slate! So, you have figured me out right? I hope not!
This entry was posted in ThirukkuraL (திருக்குறள்). Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment