குறளின் குரல் – 1326

6th Dec, 2015

நினைத்திருந்து நோக்கினும் காயும் அனைத்துநீர் 
யாருள்ளி நோக்கினீர் என்று.
                        (குறள் 1320: புலவி நுணுக்கம் அதிகாரம்)

நினைத்திருந்து – வேறுவிதங்களில் வரும் ஊடலைத் தவிர்க்க, அவளையே நினைந்து
நோக்கினும் – பார்த்தாலும்
காயும் – வெகுள்வாள்
அனைத்துநீர் – இப்படி என்னைப் அங்கம் அங்கமாக பார்க்கின்ற நீர்
யாருள்ளி – யாரை நினைத்து
நோக்கினீர் என்று – அவ்வாறு பார்த்தீர்கள் என்று.

எப்படியிருப்பினும் ஊடலில் முடிகிறதே என்று, எதுவும் சொல்லாமல், அவள் அழகை மட்டுமே பார்த்துக்கொண்டிருந்தேன். அதற்கும் அவள் வெகுண்டாள், ‘இப்படி என்னை அங்கம் அங்கமாக அளந்து பார்க்கிறீர்களே, எந்த பெண்ணோடு ஒப்பு நோக்கி, இவ்வாறு பார்க்கிறீர்கள்’ என்று குற்றஞ் சொல்லி! இப்படி எதைச் செய்தாலும் குற்றம் கண்டுபிடிக்கும் காதலியிடன் என்னத்தான் செய்வான் காதற்தலைவனும்?

Transliteration:

Ninaittirundu nOkkinum kAyum anaittunIr
yAruLLi nOkkinIr enRu

Ninaittirundu – because of love-quarrels that come by other deeds, just thinking of her
nOkkinum – if I see her,
kAyum – she would still be displeased and angry with me
anaittunIr – ‘ You look at me part by part so intently’
yAruLLi – who ar you thinking off?
nOkkinIr enRu – and see me to compare!

Thinking of how whatever I did ended up in love-quarrel, I decided to just look at her beauty; even for that she was displeased and angry with me saying this: ‘You keep looking at so intently, measuring me part by part! Which woman are you comparing with me, looking at me like this?’ – so complains the man about his maiden in this verse. What would a man do, if his beloved is in perpetual love-quarrel for every deed of his?

“Even if I just see devouring her beauty, she would be displeased,
angry with me, asking who I was comparing her with, when looked? 

இன்றெனது குறள்:

அவளழகே பார்த்தாலும் யாரோடு ஒப்ப
இவண்பார்த்தீர் என்றுவெகுள் வாள்

avaLazhagE pArttAlum yArODu oppa
ivaNpArttIr enRuveguL vAL

About ashoksubra

A little of everything is me! Immensely amazed by the concept of Universe and its infinite dimensions. Everything in this perspective seems extremely insignificant spec of a matter! My strength and weakness are one and the same - interest in everything. Focus and Shine is contrary to my belief system because everything shines, un-shines in time. There is nothing like permanent glory, except for the unknown, unseen, yet believed to be smiling at all of us - creator! Sometimes the thought having to go through a whole lot of new learning if I am born again baffles me. At the same time, I feel it may be a new beginning in a clean slate! So, you have figured me out right? I hope not!
This entry was posted in ThirukkuraL (திருக்குறள்). Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment